Arugula, Feta, and Watermelon Salad

As previously mentioned, my cousin, Tami, was in town last week and we did some grilling for dinner, per usual. I made a delicious salad for an appetizer that I adapted from a recipe in this month’s InStyle magazine. I loved the sweet fruit, with the salty cheese, and little bit of peppery arugula, so tasty!

Ingredients:

Large container of watermelon chunks, or cut one up yourself

About 5 cups of arugula salad

About a 1/2 pound of feta, cut into chunks

For Vinaigrette:

1/2 cup olive oil

Juice of 1 lime

2 Tbsp champagne vinegar

1 shallot, minced

1/2 a jalepeno, seeded and minced (recipe originally called for 1 serrano chile, thinly sliced but I couldn’t find any)

1 tsp dried thyme (recipe originally called for 1/2 Tbsp fresh thyme chopped)

1/4 tsp sea salt

 

Directions:

Mix together all ingredients in a jar or dressing bottle and shake vigorously.

Put arugula in salad bowl and toss with dressing until lightly coated.

Put arugula on salad plates, and top with chunks of watermelon and feta.

Drizzle over all with more dressing.

 

That’s it, here it is!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebekah
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 20:31:58

    Yum! I’m heading to the land of daily watermelon, and I can’t wait to make a salad like this. My MIL and dad always put salt on the watermelon; they say it’s a Midwestern/German thing….

    Reply

Leave a comment